Coins from Gallia
Gallia - roughly modern France & BeNeLux - was subjugated by the Roman Republic in a series of campaigns which started in 121 BC, and finished with Julius Caesar's Gallic Wars from 58-51 BC.

In 22 BC, the region was reorganized resulting in 4 distinct provinces; Gallia Narbonensis, Gallia Aquitania, Gallia Lugdunensis, and Gallia Belgica. The provincial capitals were Narbo Martius (Narbonne), Burdigala (Bordeaux), Lugdunum (Lyons), and Durocortorum (Reims), respectively.

Culturally, Gallia was divided into Gallia Comata, literally meaning ‘long-haired Gaul’, and Gallia Bracata ‘trousered Gaul’, which refers to the use of bracae (‘breeches’) in Gallia Narbonensis. During Late Antiquity, Gaulish and Roman culture amalgamated into a hybrid Gallo-Roman culture. The Gaulish language was marginalized and eventually extinct, being replaced by regional forms of Late Latin which in the medieval period developed into French and Occitan.


(1) Augustus 2 BC-4 AD
Obverse: CAESAR AVGVSTVS DIVI F PATER PATRIAE, Head of Augustus facing right, wearing laurel wreath
Reverse: C L CAESARES AVGVSTI F COS DESIG PRINC IVVENT, Gaius and Lucius Caesar standing, each, wearing togas, resting hand on shield and spear, simpulum, right, and lituus, left, flanking, left and right respectively
Ref: RIC I (2nd Ed.) Augustus 207
(2) Augustus | Agrippa 9-3 BC
Obverse: Head of Agrippa left, wearing rostral crown, and head of Augustus right, wearing oak wreath IMP / DIVI F
Reverse: Chained crocodile standing right; palm and filleted wreath behind COL_NEM
Ref: RIC I 158, RPC I 524, SNG Cop 699, ...