Coins from Kingdom of Galatia
In 279 BC, two Celtic factions united under the leadership of Brennus and began to push southwards from southern Bulgaria towards the Greek states. According to Livy, a sizable force split off from this main group and head toward Asia Minor.

For several years a federation of Hellespontine cities prevented the Celts from entering Asia Minor, but this changed when Nikomedes I of Bithynia allied with some of the Celtic leaders in a war. When the Celts finally entered Asia Minor chaos ensued until the Celts were routed in the Battle of Elephants. The Celts withdrew to Phrygia, eventually settling in Galatia, including the cities of Ancyra, Pessinus, Tavium, and Gordion.

From then until 62 BC, the Galatians ruled themselves by means of decentralized Tetrarchies, but in 62, the Romans established a Kingdom of Galatia, which lasted around 35 years.

Upon the death of Deiotarus, the Kingdom of Galatia was given to Amyntas, an auxiliary commander in the Roman army of Brutus and Cassius who gained the favor of Mark Antony. After his death in 25 BC, Galatia was incorporated by Augustus into the Roman Empire, becoming a Roman province.
Kingdom of Galatia
An AE unit struck 36-25BC in Galatia
Obverse: Head of Heracles right, club over shoulder

Reverse: Lion walking right, B above (for Basileus), XOA below

Diameter: 22 mm
Die Orientation: 0 H
Weight: 8.8 g
No notes for this coin
Sear 5694
An AE unit struck 62-40 BC in Pessinus?
Obverse: laureate head of Zeus right

Reverse: eagle half-left, head right, standing on thunderbolt; (ΔHITAP)

Diameter: 17 mm
Die Orientation: -
Weight: 6.8 g
No notes for this coin
RBN 1934, pp. 5-10, 2; RPC I p. 536, 2; SNG von Aulock 6100; cf. HGC 7, 444 corr. (image only)