Coins from Epirus
Unlike most other Greeks, the inhabitants of Epirus lived in small villages. The region lay on the periphery of the Greek world, and was far from peaceful; for many centuries it remained a frontier area contested with the Illyrian peoples to the north.

Epirus had great religious significance due to the presence of the shrine and oracle at Dodona – second only to the oracle at Delphi.

Beginning in 370 BC, the Molossian Aeacidae dynasty built a centralized state in Epirus and began expanding their power. The dynasty ended in 232 BC, but Epirus remained a substantial power, unified as the Epirote League, a federal state. In 167 BC, the League fell to the Roman Republic.
(1) Ambracia
An AR Stater struck 426-404 BC in Ambracia
Obverse: Pegasus

Reverse: Head of Athena, strigel behind, A before. Die flaw before Athena's face

Diameter: -
Die Orientation: -
Weight: 8.06 g
No notes for this coin
An AE unit struck 234-168 BC in Federal Mint
Obverse: Laureate, veiled, and draped bust of Dione right, wearing stephane; AI(?) monogram behind, BO before, palm frond below

Reverse: Tripod in wreath, AΠEI-PΩTAN on either side

Diameter: 16 mm
Die Orientation: 0 H
Weight: 25 g
No notes for this coin
No references provided for this coin