Coins from Cyrenaica
Cyrenaica is the eastern coastal region of Libya. Also known as Pentapolis ("Five Cities") in antiquity, it formed part of the Roman province of Crete and Cyrenaica, later divided into Libya Pentapolis and Libya Sicca.

Ptolemy Apion, the last king of Cyrenaica, left his kingdom to the Roman Republic when he died childless in 96BC. Rome readily accepted this, but preferred to leave the administration to local rulers instead of enforcing direct control.

In 63 BC Crete and Cyrenaica were combined into a single province. Diocletian divided the province again in 298 AD.
An AE Hemidrachm | Triobol struck 163-145 BC in Cyrene
Obverse: Diademed head of Zeus-Ammon right

Reverse: BAΣIΛEΩΣ ΠTOΛEMAIOY EYEPΓETOY, eagle standing right on thunderbolt, wings spread; Φ to right

Diameter: 44 mm
Die Orientation: 11 H
Weight: 38.36 g
No notes for this coin
SNG Copenhagen 651; Svoronos 1641
(2) Trajan
An AR Hemidrachm struck 100 AD in Cyrene | Caesarea (Cappadocia)
Obverse: Laureate head of right; AYT KAIΣ NEP TPAIAN ΣEB ΓEPM

Reverse: Head of Zeus-Ammon right; ΔHMAPX·EΞ·YΠAT·Γ

Diameter: 15 mm
Die Orientation: -
Weight: 1.51 g
No notes for this coin
BMC 57-58. Sydenham 176