Coins from Petraea
Arabia Petraea was a frontier province of the Roman Empire beginning in the 2nd century. Its capital was Petra.

It consisted of the former Nabataean Kingdom in Jordan, southern Levant, the Sinai Peninsula and northwestern Arabian Peninsula.

Most of Arabia was sparsely populated, and its cities can be found concentrated to the north, toward the Jordan. Petra served as the base for Legio III Cyrenaica.


(1) Julia Domna 194-217 AD
AE unit Petra
Obverse: draped bust right; IOVΛIA_CEBACTA
Reverse: Tyche of Petra, holding baetyl and trophy, seated left on rock outcropping within distyle temple; pellet in pediment; AΔΡI_ΠETΡA_MHT
Ref: Spijkerman 40*
(2) Trajan 112 AD
Obverse: laureate bust right, draped shoulder; AYTOKP KAIC NEP TPAIAN CEB ΓEPM ΔAK
Reverse: Arabia facing, holding branch and cinnamon sticks, camel halfleft; ∆HMAPX__EΞ IϚ YΠAT Ϛ
Ref: RIC II 142, Woytek 285b, RSC II 89,...
(3) Trajan AD 114-116
Obverse: AYTOKP KAIC [NЄP TP]AINѠ APICTѠ CЄB ΓЄPM ΔAK, laureate and cuirassed bust left, with paludamentum, seen from behind
Reverse: ΔHMAPX ЄΞ YΠATO ς, camel walking left
Ref: RPC III 4080; SNG ANS 1158; Sydenha...